The unbelievable lightness of icy Wednesdays off

Well, there was another snow day today, only 2 days after we returned from a generously long winter break. I’ve been drinking coffee and perusing the internets, crafting an e-mail to the aforementioned Sophie… I’d try and explain what about, but you can read it instead and judge for yourselves. My closest friends will know why I’m so mind-blown by her theory.

I also came across a poem by Dallas Clayton, one that resonates with feeling the need to slam into my mid-twenties full-force & shake up my little red universe. So now I’m sharing it with you. I recommend spending lots of time at his site & filling your mind with his poems. Save it for a gray day & you’ll be basking in your mind’s sunny eye.

College
, by Dallas Clayton

If the days have come and gone
when your mattress was on the floor
with no frame
and no sheet
(it was hung over the window)

and you’ve moved beyond a place
where people draw on the microwave with markers

good luck on your journey
toward purchasing a horse
and riding it across the island
of your choosing.

If those days have not yet arrived
take caution
they move quickly
more so than you can predict
and should be savored while at hand

for soon you will be
pursuing said horse
and charting a map for said island
and those items cost.

Cost big.

Stay away from black holes, you never know where you’ll end up.
Catherine

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “The unbelievable lightness of icy Wednesdays off”

  1. Marian Says:

    a post after my heart! love this poem,so much food for thought. i love literature ,poetry so your posts are perfect for me.
    beautiful page,loving the bit aout Emily Dickinson in your banner.
    muah x
    Marian

  2. newenglandnoir Says:

    @Marian: You’re too sweet. If only I had style like yours! Thanks for reading!

  3. Delight & a little black dress « new england noir Says:

    […] night & an Ann Taylor gift card burning a hole in her pocket, so we decided to brave the snow (yes, again) to find her something cute. Neither of us really enjoy trying on clothes, so I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

