Things I Love Thursday

tilt

Good morning & happy Thursday! Today is the anniversary of Abraham Lincoln’s assassination, did you know that? It’s also the first day of Passover, which started at sundown last night. That leads me to the first item on this week’s list:

  • Passover! The Passover mythology is one of the most interesting and important (in my opinion! don’t yell at me!) secular myths to understand. I’ve always been drawn to the story of Judiasm, a lot of it because I was a morbid little girl who took personal solace in reading about the struggles of others. I was also not narcissistic at all, clearly. But as an adult,  the story of Passover is less a myth about cruelty and despotism (which is how I interpreted it, wrongly), and more a myth about maintenance of a culture, self-reliance, and true determined grit. The mythology is beautiful If you want to know more about Passover, check out the wiki article.
  • This quote from Geri Halliwell, everyone’s favorite Spice Girl. Perfectly stated:
    “Years ago in America, when Botox was new, I had some squirted into my forehead and it gave me a headache. I’m not saying I’ll never do it again, but for now I strive to look for examples that show me it’s OK to age. I have to go in front of that camera now as a 36-year-old woman and be as confident as I can. I know other women can relate to that. We all face it. For me, it’s heightened, because my weight and my body and the way I look have been closely documented throughout my career. Believe me, I’ve had my moments. I have days of self-doubt, but I think the kindest thing I can do to myself is accept where my body is at. I’m done with trying to be perfect. A perfect body belongs to somebody else – and it’s not me.

    Geri Halliwell tells the new issue of Red magazine (via Perez)

  • The new bedroom setup: I think one of the simplest things a person can do to feel better and more motivated is to make small aesthetic changes to his or her surroundings. On Saturday,  A and I began the tedious process of spring cleaning… I say tedious because I didn’t dust. All winter. And we have exposed wood beams and tall ceilings. Anyway, we rearranged the upstairs, and I love it. You can see some pics here.

Honorable mentions this week: office puppies!; picnik plugins on flickr; strong coffee; solidarity; Rachel Maddow!; newly dry-cleaned clothes; my wonderful & creative fiance; ceasar wraps with red pepper and bacon; Lady Gaga & The Fame (cannot stop dancing! I need a hula hoop.); finally agreeing to Tweet (see sidebar); Firefly/Serenity (Malcolm Reynolds, mmm); & ironed white skirts!

Happy happy short week!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Things I Love Thursday”

  1. Starred 4.17.09 « new england noir Says:

    […] kind of quiet around here this week. I had a job interview yesterday and as such skipped TiLT due to extenuating nervous circumstances, so I’ll compensate here a bit. I know all four of […]

Leave a Reply

