Did I ever tell you about the time…

phoenix beauty via flickr

phoenix beauty via flickr

…about the time that every. Store. In. Amherst. Was out of fake-eyelash glue? No, I didn’t move to Vegas, it was Halloween,  & the only fake eyelashes I could find were sold glue-separately. At Sally Beauty in Hadley I was ready to cry. After all, what self-respecting flapper (worst costume ever, everyone had to ask) doesn’t have Clara Bow eyes?

Anyway, Sally Beauty, too, was out. But the heroic salesgirl had an unopened (and unneeded) tube of eyelash glue in her car, which she kindly sold me for 30% under retail. In 2009, a Good Samaritan is a woman who sells you cosmetic accoutrements with which to dress up in imitation of the ultimate old-time bad girl.

I love the 21st century.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Did I ever tell you about the time…”

  1. winter @ new england noir « new england noir Says:

    […] I plan on incorporating the bright cerulean into my “evenings out” makeup routine. The false eyelashes too– who says Halloween is for […]

Leave a Reply

