winter @ new england noir

Winter is the dead time, when Persephone is stashed away below the Earth and her mother weeps ice onto the land. I want to go shopping, and come back wrapped in black cashmere and silk/cotton blends with dashes of peacock blue.

 

winter @ new england noir

I am feeling dolman sleeves, subtle sequins (I mentioned that, I believe), black everywhere. I’ve always loved sparkly jewelry with a hard edge–I am, at heart, still a riot grrl– and this season’s return to grunge suits my ex-goth tastes to a T. Only this time around, I imagine it differently– full skirts with a tongue-in-cheek 50’s flair, fishnets, happy platforms in saturated hues, & bling stacked to the elbow.

Halloween brought a unique opportunity to buy some makeup I wouldn’t normally look at–I skipped the Halloween aisle entirely and went straight for the Maybelline, with a retro (for me) result. I wore bright blue eyeshadow in an intense, painted on manner for periods of my adolescence, and this time, I didn’t ring my eyes like a psychedelic raccoon. The result was great, & I plan on incorporating the bright cerulean into my “evenings out” makeup routine. The false eyelashes too— who says Halloween is for kids?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

